When I run I now feel nothing

September 1, 2009 at 9:01 pm | Posted in Politics | Leave a comment

I ran for 2 hours today to pick up my new glass prescription. While the running itself was not overly difficult, I felt absolutely nothing either during or after the run. I am not merely talking about the absence of the “runner’s high”. I just didn’t feel any sense of joy whatsoever even though I was going at a rate of at least 6 min per kilometer. Nothing. Not even a clear-headedness that comes from extended and/or intense aerobic activity. I have just started reading a book called Conquering Depression & Anxiety Through Exercise by distance runner Keith Johnsgard (he holds a PhD in psychology). I only got past the first chapter and I will continue reading this book but I need to know–what if depression and/or anxiety interferes with exercise, instead of treating it? Of course, if I don’t exercise at all I think that I will feel much worse. But I have lost one of my biggest incentives to run–the feeling of joy as reward–and I can only hope that I will regain this feeling again soon.  I will need to, as I am still registered for the Montreal marathon this September 13th!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

