We love our news of the world

October 13, 2007 at 4:37 pm | Posted in Miscellania, Politics | 2 Comments

No, no commentary today–just a portion of the news stories that caught my attention today–and yes I hate doing this–I know it’s a “lazy” way to blog. I just need to keep track of my biorhythms–which means blogging when my mind is racing with energy and ideas. It was this morning, but even though it was a Saturday I procrastinated by going to the gym. Anyway, I’ll shut up with the excuses; if you see anything that interests you feel free to click on the link.

With all that said, I might as well belatedly add my disgust over the Burmese (Myanmarese?) junta’s actions against completely peaceful protests. The problem, of course, is that the junta is addicted to power and the privileges and wealth that power brings. That in itself is enough reason for many brutal regimes to try and retain their rule. But it also helps if you see the protesters as almost sub-human, or third-rate, who live only to serve you, kind of like Kim jong-il’s North Korea.

Take Putin’s Russia, for example. He is clearly turning Russia into an increasingly totalitarian regime, but if he were to face protests of a truly massive scale by Russian standards would he order the army to shoot and kill unarmed protesters? It’s an open question, because Vladimir Putin is brutal yet also intelligent. All tyrants desire power, but there are different types of tyrants and Putin probably doesn’t view the populace as inferior specimens. In my view then, if you see your “enemy” as less than human it is far easier to be ruthless and even genocidal. Think about Adolf Hitler’s genocide of the Jews and Roma as an example.

With this in mind I’d like for the Burmese junta to, through force or other means, snap out of their arrogance and delusions. This especially goes for the de-facto leader of Myanmar, General Than Shwe. Remember that notoriously excessive video of his daughter’s wedding that was leaked out (and leaked out by whom?)?

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i had no idea you started writing again. I just checked randomly. But its no news to me that you keep up with world news daily. Good on you for that.

  2. Eric, I am also an avid news and political watcher in this world of ours. I agree with your assessments of the news reports oto a great extent although I am not sure about the BBC being left wing. I tend to think they are more unbniased than most. Do you ever watch MSNBC?. They are definitely the opposite or even opponent of fox. Great political shows and excellent hosts. I watch it between 7and9 PM.
    I think you’re blog is interesting and I am truly pleasantly surprised and happy that you are so on top of this stuss. Keep it up; I will keep checking and I would love to stay in touch. Email me any time.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

