A long hiatus is over

July 20, 2007 at 8:41 pm | Posted in Politics | 2 Comments

I’m well aware that it’s been almost two months–maybe more–since I published anything on this blog, I had abandoned it. I’ve decided to give this thing another go but I’m bound to be rusty for the first few entries after such a hiatus so please be kind and bear the stilted writing that is perhaps not as concise and as sharply presented as it could be. I know that there’s plenty of news out there, both locally, throughout Canada and throughout the entire world. Putin has helped and may be largely responsible for turning Russia back into a tyranny, or at best an autocracy. The coup-empowered Musharaf has finally found out that governing is a lot harder than initially illegally taking over power to begin with, especially in a state as volatile as Pakistan is right now. The military personnel at Guatanomo Bay have resorted to force-feeding desperate hunger-strikers though a tube; whether most or all of these strikers are guilty of planning terrorist attacks is immaterial–forced feedings are especially painful and cruel and at times vindictive. However, since I’m just getting started again, I’m going to take things slow for the time-being, just to get back into the swing of things. For starters, I’ve been meaning to brush up on my poltical terminology to see how accurate the words I have been using to describe various political systems and contexts truly are. As such, I have found out/confirmed the following definitions from dictionary.com that should be useful for clarity (italics are mine):

klep·toc·ra·cya government or state in which those in power exploit national resources and steal; rule by a thief or thieves. E.g. Nigeria

tyranny–a form of government in which the ruler is an absolute dictator (not restricted by a constitution or laws or opposition etc.) e.g. North Korea

terrorism–the calculated use of violence (or the threat of violence) against civilians in order to attain goals that are political or religious or ideological in nature; this is done through intimidation or coercion or instilling fear. E.g. Al-qaeda

It would be useful to have an authoritative and unbiased political science glossary of such terms, but I have no present access to one, both materially and on-line. If anyone sees discrepancies in such definitions please don’t hesitate to let me know. For example, when does a terrorist movement become a guerrilla army, and is there even any substantive difference? What, precisely, is state terrorism (not state-sponsored terrorism)? I think these are rather open questions. Does anyone else have any thoughts or knowledge on this, some political-science majors or students of international law, perhaps?

Well, I know this was a light entry but I think I’m on my way to getting back on track again. Tomorrow, come hell or high water, I’m going to thoroughly analyze the news stories of the day that are of interest to me, no matter how many there are. After all, I have a lot of catching up to do.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love it! You’re so knowlegable. By naming examples of the countries that define those words, you make it easy for a reader to understand – because we all know about those countries! (Makes me so glad I live in Canada too).

  2. Wow!! What a great start
    Keep it up


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

