The ambitious country profile project

April 16, 2007 at 5:01 pm | Posted in Politics | Leave a comment

Those who read my blog regularly may recall me hinting that I would like to undertake a vast, practically impossible project: to document and analyse every single independent nation recognised in the world today. This would include current events, poltical structure, history etc. Can I do this? Why do I want to do this? Because thus far, I feel my learning of current events have been too random, without any structural basis behind it. I like it when things and issues are categorised; it’s part of my personality. At any rate, this on-going, possibly life-long project is at least worth a try. Of course, I’m really only doing this for myself; it gives me a good excuse to expand my knowledge about the world and obtain a better understanding as to why certain parts of the world are the way that they are. First up is Afghanistan. 

An additional note: there are 193 offcially recognised countries in the world. I myself have been to five of them: Canada, the U.S., Mexico, the UK and Israel, which means I have visited a total of…2.591% of the political world. How many countries have any of you been to?

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

