Confessions of a former blogger: The finale

April 1, 2007 at 5:25 pm | Posted in Miscellania | Leave a comment

Thursday, January 19, 2006

A Comedy of Errors (or a Divine Comedy)

Holas amigos. I know it’s been a long time since I’ve rapped at ya, but I’ve had a ton of shit to deal with. Yeah, I know, I ripped that one right off The Onion’s Jim Anchower. In fact, part of the reason I haven’t blogged in 5 days is how there is often nothing on my plate. Right now I am currently unemployed and I also feel my life is uninteresting and unworthy to report about in print form. I also don’t have access to a bus pass this month, so I’m still postponing my “news of the world by Country in alphabetical order” section until I can spare $5.00 to get to the Toronto Central library.

Regardless, I got another book to read–the classic Divine Comedy and…oh wait, this wasn’t the book I wanted from The Handy Book Exchange–I was thinking of Milton’s Paradise Lost. Ah, easy novice mistake. Anywho, the elections are almost upon us and despite what the polls say, almost anything can happen come election day. It wouldn’t be the first time polls were dead wrong in their accuracy and predictions. I hope for a Liberal majority regardless of the scandals of the past, because the Conservatines and the NDP are much worse. I refuse to let my vote be influenced by spite, at least for this election. If another minority government is formed, then, who is really to blame for any political instability?

Anyway, Jr. beckons me, I must take my leave and have a nice shower with him. Please check in again later.

Saturday, January 14, 2006

It’s been 4 days since I last posted, but I lost interest for a while. At any rate, my life isn’t terribly interesting right now. I’m practically obsessed with beating the hard version of FE: POR (Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance) and I’m on the last chapter, but it’s so hard that it’s incredibly frustrating. the final boss picks off my characters one by one and they barely have even a chance to escape and take cover.

I found something interesting on the planet Pluto–it’s finally confirmed that nNASA will send a space probe to monitor–but not land–on it, and said probe shoyld make it there in 2012. It’s a pain to always have to save a draft just to safely link something, so I figure I’d just tell you about it.

I’ve given up on reading Nietzche–some of it is incomprehensible to me. Maybe much of it is supposed to be incomprehensible.

Tuesday, January 10, 2006

 

Well–that’s the last time I trust the CIA World Factbook as an authoritative source for independent country information. Hardly objective, their site claims that Iraq was invaded in 2003 after “Continued Iraqi noncompliance with UNSC resolutions over a period of 12 years”, which is a half-truth at best. At any rate, I realise it’s too early to list the intricacies of the Iraq government and constitution, as it is barely a year old and highly unstable. Still, the actual text of the constitution is interesting, and it will be interesting to see how long it will hold, or even if it should hold. You can see it yourself at http://www.iraqigovernment.org/index_en.htm. What I find most interesting is the following passage: Article (2): 1st – Islam is the official religion of the state and is a basic source
of legislation:
(a) No law can be passed that contradicts the undisputed rules of Islam.
(b) No law can be passed that contradicts the principles of democracy.

The potential contradiction there is self-evident. Perhaps the successful passage of this constitution last fall was not such a success after all.

I just spent two hours playing a hard mode Fire Emblem chapter only to have one of my characters killed, prompting me to reset the game in frustration. It can be an incredibly frustrating game. I’ve had the presence of mind to switch to Burnout 3 when I find this RPG isn’t giving me enough instant gratification, but because the games are for different systems (one is for GC and the other is for PS2) my a/v inputs can get damaged due to the frequent switching. I wonder if a device exists that lets you play games from two different systems using only one set of av cables? Ah well. Got the collected works of Nietzsche from Carroll at the rare book store where I work–I hope I don’t find it too heavy. I can’t think of anything else to say right now, so now I’m logging out.

Monday, January 09, 2006

Abu Musab al-Zarqawi

I want to go out for just a little bit of exercise now, so this isn’t going to be a big post, but I still intend to keep my promise on educating myself (and maybe others) about how Iraq’s democracy works. In the meantime, I came across this outrageous article. http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20060109/ap_on_re_mi_ea/iraq;_ylt=AsKXVl6GFXNEauee8Fxz0xtvaA8F;_ylu=X3oDMTA5aHJvMDdwBHNlYwN5bmNhdA
Oh wait. I see they updated and changed some of the content of the page, as this is a developing story. In it, Zarqawi, the leader of Al Queda in Iraq, rhetorically asked fellow Sunni Muslims where their fear in God was (pertaining to the many Sunnis who voted in Iraq’s recent election) after claiming responsibility for a suicide bombing that killed 15 people. My question to him would be an obvious: “Where is your fear in God?” Honestly, I sometimes wonder if the guy makes these statements just to piss everyone off. As it turns out, the linked article is interesting to me regardless because of another issue that has been broached in the past–militaries invading mosques to capture–or battle–insurgents. To me, it couldn’t be clearer. If you’re going to use–or allow use of–your mosque to engage in direct combat with the enemy, you shouldn’t expect the mosque to be a free untouchable homebase, nor should the public at large. After all, how fair is it to shoot out of a one-way force-field, if you get my meaning. Anyway, gotta get time in for a walk before the televised debates start, so I’m signing out.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

